Title Information

Records for not-yet-published titles do not include subject classifications. To initiate an order, see the instructions at the bottom of the page.

LAWRENCE ABU HAMDAN: {INAUDIBLE} A POLITICS OF LISTENING IN 4 ACTS. Ed. by Fabian Schoneich. Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, 2016. Published in association with Sternberg Press, Berlin. Distributed in the U.S.A. by Ram Publications, Santa Monica. 70 pp. 15 x 10 cm. ISBN 9783956792410 In English.
Publisher's description: In both art and research, Beirut- and London-based artist Lawrence Abu Hamdan (b. 1985) explores the perception of language and sound. His latest project, A Politics of Listening, is an intervention into and reorganization of the forms listening takes. His latest artist book provides a glimpse into an elaborate and productive career that began with Hamdan's interest in DIY music and includes audiovisual installations, performances, graphic works, photography, Islamic sermons, cassette tape compositions, essays and lectures. The slender publication, accompanying two recent shows, features transcriptions of sermons, monologues, testimonies and interviews made over the last five years engaging questions of national identity, human rights and the administration of justice. Hamdan's audio-aesthetic practice includes sonic forensics for legal investigations and advocacy. Hamdan is a current fellow at Vera List Center for Art and Politics, the New School, NY , and his work is collected by MoMA, NY , Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, Barjeel Art Foundation, UAE, among others. Essays by Omar Kholeif and Fabian Schoneich.
Artist(s):Hamdan, Lawrence Abu
Indexing: Unspecified
Plans: 73
Worldwide Number: 175352
Paperbound $14.00x (libraries receive a 10% discount on this title)    

Select titles for ordering by clicking in the boxes to the left of the title entries and then click on the "Add to Cart" button below. You will then be able to specify quantities and continue with your order.

NOTE: The shopping cart will expire after 2 hours of inactivity.